Sunday, April 12, 2015

All Video Resolutions Up To Monstrous 16K

Until a few months ago the standard resolution for our television was the FullHD, but now more and more insistently you hear of 2K, 4K, and so on and so forth, and in this article we will find out what the screen resolutions used both in the world of smartphones but also tablets and TV going to see also the next resolutions that will land on the displays of our devices within a few years.

If you have made history the various QVGA, HVGA, WVGA with all its variants the real revolution has occurred with the first HD ready, which established the first real step towards high definition, in fact the simple HD or WXGA has the first HD resolution, equal to 1280 x 720 but only a few years ago he made the debut FullHD (FHD) that redefined all standards with the resolution of 1920 × 1080.

After the resolution FullHD now are marketing multipliers FullHD and that explains the reason for the name 2K, 4K, 8K and 16K also which are respectively twice the FullHD, 4 times the FullHD and so on. Currently, there are televisions and some displays of smartphones with 4K resolution but the future will dell'8K before and after the 16K but you will want a few more years to have an incredible resolution.

Here is the list of the most used video resolutions from QVGA up to monstrous 16K that we will see in the field only a few years:

  • QVGA: 320 x 240 pixels
  • HVGA: 480 x 320 pixels
  • WVGA: 800 x 480 pixels
  • FWVGA: 854 x 480 pixels
  • QHD: 960 x 540 pixels
  • WSVGA: 1024 x 600 pixels
  • XGA: 1024 x 768 pixels
  • HD / WXGA: 1280 x 720 pixels
  • WXGA: 1280 x 800 pixels (16:10)
  • FHD: 1920 x 1080 pixels (Full HD)
  • WUXGA: 1920 x 1200 pixels (Full HD 16:10 The Tablet)
  • QHD: 2560 x 1440 pixels (2K ie twice the FullHD)
  • WQXGA: 2560 x 1600 pixels (16:10 Tablet)
  • UHD: 3840 x 2160 pixels (4K that is four times the Full HD)
  • WUXGA: 3840 x 2400 pixels (4K in 16:10 for tablet)
  • 4K Cinema: 4096 x 2560 pixels (Projector)
  • UHD: 5120x2880 pixels (The 5K used on Apple iMac)
  • FUHD: 7680 x 4320 pixels (8K)
  • QUHD: 15360 x 8640 pixels (16K)